You are here

Outstanding AAS Member Obituaries

Last Updated: 18 January 2022

The AAS/HAD Obituary Committee is responsible for commissioning and compiling obituaries for deceased members of the Society. These obituaries are published in the Bulletin of the AAS as a tribute and for the benefit of future historians of science. The committee depends entirely on our astronomical colleagues, including astronomy-department and observatory administrators, who knew the deceased, for help writing obituaries. Currently there are a number of recently and not-so-recently deceased AAS members for whom we lack written obituaries. Please take a moment to review the list of names, and contact Crystal Tinch ( if you’d be willing to write an obituary for a former colleague and member. Thank you!

Ali, Babar
Catacosinos, Paul A.
Chapman, Robert D.
Desai, Upendra
Edward Chupp
Felten, James
Fitch, Walter S.
Fountain, John
Frost, Kenneth J.
Gebbie, Katherie B.
Giacconi, Riccardo
Gibbs, Michael G.
Gordon, Kurtiss J.
Gould, Robert J.
Gray, Robert Hansen
Greeley, Ronald
Guttman, Paul H.
Haddock, Fred T.
Hansen, J. Richard
Horak, Henry George
Hurley, Kevin
Jordan, Thomas M.
Juda, Michael
Kennedy, Hans D.
Kent, Jack T.
Klemola, Arnold
Koch, David G.
Kohman, Truman P.
Kowal, Charles T.
Lawrence, John K.
Landolt, Arlo U.
Liller, William
Lin, Robert P.
Lucy, Leon
Maffei, Paolo
Margarve, Thomas E.
Marlborough, John Michael
McClintock, Jeffrey
Melosh, H. Jay
Merilan, Michael Preston
Mishchenko, Michael I.
Mitalas, Romas
Mumford, George S.
Namba, Osamu
Navarro-Gonzalez, Rafael
Nelson, Jerry
Olson, Edward C.
Ostro, Steven J.
Pauls, Thomas A.
Pecker, Jean-Claude
Peregrine, David S.
Pettengill, Gordon
Pomerantz, Martin
Ptak, Roger L.
Rakos, Karl D.
Rasool, S. Ichtiaque
Roberts, George
Rodman, James P.
Roemer, Elizabeth
Rouse, Carl A.
Rubin, Robert H.
Sargent, Wallace L. W.
Schiffmacher, Edward R.
Shorthill, Richard W.
Steinlin, Uli
Sternglass, Ernest J.
Stone, Sydney N.
Svestka, Zdenek
Tebbe, Paul
Tooper, Robert F.
Tucker, Roy
Tueller, Jack
Upton, Edward Key Lloyd
Van Steenberg, Michael E.
Varadi, Ferenc
Walborn, Nolan
Warwick, James Walter
Whitney, Charles
Wolstencroft, Ramon D.
Wood, H. John III
Young, Arthur
Zapolsky, Harold S.
Zelle, Joseph
Zirker, Jack B.
Zombeck, Martin V.