You are here

The HAD Student Travel Award

To encourage students to present papers at its meetings, the Historical Astronomy Division (HAD) of the American Astronomical Society can present one or more awards for its main meeting in January of each year.

Each award will consist of up to $750, to be paid after the meeting at which the student presents a paper, either oral or display.

Any current graduate or undergraduate student is eligible. A student may not receive the award more than once.

The application deadline for the 2022 meeting is 24 September 2021. To apply, the student should send the abstract of the paper to the HAD Secretary-Treasurer. The student’s academic advisor should also send a message stating that the student is currently enrolled and will not receive their degree before the meeting. Please note that if the planned AAS winter meeting in Salt Lake City is replaced with a virtual meeting, the award will cover the full registration fee.

The HAD Committee will make the decision and inform the recipient before the deadline to submit the abstract to the American Astronomical Society. The Committee reserves the right to make no award for any given meeting.

Previous Recipients

  • 2019 Rebecca Charbonneau (University of Cambridge) and Andrealuna Pizzetti (Clemson University)
  • 2017 Laura Caron (Georgetown University), Samantha Thompson (Arizona State University), and Teresa Wilson (Michigan Technological University)
  • 2016: Andrew Oakes (University of Toronto)
  • 2014: Sarah Reynolds (Indiana University)
  • 2012: Matthew Whitehouse (University of Arizona)
  • 2011: Clifford J. Cunningham (James Cook University)