The Donald E. Osterbrock Book Prize for Historical Astronomy

Donald E. Osterbrock
Donald Edward Osterbrock, 1924-2007

The Historical Astronomy Division awards the Donald E. Osterbrock Book Prize biennially to the author(s) of a book judged to advance the field of the history of astronomy or to bring history of astronomy to light.

The award are made in odd-numbered years. Books copyrighted in the years from five years before the award year through two years before the award year will be eligible for this award.

The award was originated by HAD in 2009 and was named in memory of Donald E. Osterbrock in 2010. Osterbrock was a long-time HAD member, a contributor to nearly every HAD meeting, HAD Chair from 1987-89, and the recipient of HAD’s highest honor, the LeRoy E. Doggett Prize for Historical Astronomy, in 2002.

More about Donald E. Osterbrock.


2011 Nathan Sivin for Granting the Seasons: The Chinese Astronomical Reform of 1280, With a Study of Its Many Dimensions and a Translation of its Records

2013 Harvey M. Bricker and Victoria R. Bricker for Astronomy in the Maya Codices

2015 Barbara J. Becker for Unravelling Starlight: William and Margaret Huggins and the Rise of the New Astronomy

Nominations for the prize may be made by any member of HAD, including Division Affiliate members, and must be made by 1 March of the year before the award year. Thus books with publication dates from 2012 through 2015 will be eligible for the 2017 prize and must be nominated by 1 March 2016. Nominations should be sent to the HAD Secretary-Treasurer, who is also the secretary of the HAD Prize Committee. Books with publication dates of 2012 or 2013 that were nominated for the 2015 prize remain in contention and do not need to be renominated. It is recommended that nominators include a letter in support of their nomination and give references to any published reviews. Additional letters of support are welcome. E-mail is preferred.

Rules for the Donald E. Osterbrock Book Prize

Historical Astronomy Division   |    American Astronomical Society

by JST
email: hadchair@aas.org